center for synthesis
and analysis of biodiversity

A centre created and developed by the FRB


Global Evaluation of the Impacts of Storms on freshwater Habitat and structure of phytoplankton Assemblages


Coordinator: Orlane Anneville - INRA (France)

Co-leaders: Jason Stockwell - University of Vermont (USA) ; Vijay Patel - US Geological Survey, Alaska (USA)

Postdoctoral fellow: Jonathan Doubek - University of Vermont (USA)

Participants: Gaël Dur - Shizuoka University (Japan); Sami Souissi - University of Lille 1 (France); François Schmitt - CNRS (France); Patrick Venail - Institut Forel, University of Geneva (Switzerland); Emily Nodine - University of Vermont (USA); Nico Salmaso - IASMA (Italie); Chih-hao Hsieh - National Taiwan University (Taiwan); Marc Lajeunesse - University of South Florida (USA); Rita Adrian - Leibniz-Institute of Freshwater Ecology and Inland Fisheries (Germany); Dietmar Straile - University of Konstanz (Germany); James Rusak - Dorset Environmental Science Centre (Canada); Aleksandra Lewandowska - Institute for Chemistry and Biology of the Marine Environment (Germany).

The GEISHA project brings together experts in theoretical ecology, aquatic ecology, limnology, biodiversity, plankton taxonomy impact of extreme events, climate change, statistical analysis, series-temporal meta-analysis, Bayesian approaches, turbulence and nonlinear variability analysis, and multivariate modeling.

GEISHA is cofinanced by the John Wesley Powell Center for analysis and synthesis, Colorado, USA.PowellCenter emblem 11

Learn more about the project on YouTube:

Retrospective Analysis of Antarctic Tracking data (RAATD) to identify areas of ecological significance in the Antarctic

Project leader: Yan Ropert-Coudert, Centre d'Etudes biologique de Chizé (CNRS - Université La Rochelle), France (

Postdoctoral member: Ryan Reisinger.

Participants : Horst Bornemann, Alfred Wegener Institute, Helmholtz Centre for Polar and Marine Research, Germany ; Jean-Benoît Charrassin, LOCEAN, Muséum national d’Histoire naturelle, Université Pierre et Marie Curie, France; Bruno Danis, Université Libre de Bruxelles, Belgium; Mark Hindell, University of Tasmania, Australia ; Luis Huckstadt, University of California, Santa Cruz, USA ; Ian Jonsen, Macquarie University, Australia; Ben Raymond, Australian Antarctic Division, Australia ; Philip Trathan, British Antarctic Survey the United Kingdom; Anton Van de Putte, Royal Belgian Institute for Natural Science, Belgium ; David Thompson, National Institute of Water and Atmospheric Research Ltd., New Zealand ; Leigh Torres, Oregon State University, USA.